Radiation Laboratory faculty among those honored with undergraduate and teaching awards

Author: Laura Mortlock-McMinn

Sylwia Ptasinska of the Radiation Laboratory and Physics departments is among the twenty University of Notre Dame faculty members that have received the Rev. Edmund P.Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. 

The Joyce Awards, established in 2007, are supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates of Notre Dame’s Class of 1937. They honor faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching, and, in particular, recognize professors who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within their disciplines. 

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, and the recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.